Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Atomic Speedway

Rain postpones prelims at 31st annual DTWC

October 14, 2011, 5:53 pm
By Todd Turner
DirtonDirt.com managing editor
Don O'Neal's car sits unattended Friday in the K-C Raceway pits. (thesportswire.net)
Don O'Neal's car sits unattended Friday in the K-C Raceway pits. (thesportswire.net)

ALMA, Ohio (Oct. 14) — Sporadic rain showers that never went away Friday at K-C Raceway postponed Late Model preliminaries for the 31st annual U.S. Steel Dirt Track World Championship presented by Sunoco.

The complete Late Model program, capped by the $50,000-to-win Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series feature, will be run on Saturday with gates opening at noon and hot laps at 4 p.m. | Complete DTWC coverage

Ninety Late Models are entered in the season finale, which will decide the back-and-forth championship chase between series leader Jimmy Owens and Scott Bloomquist.

Weather forecasts called for rain to clear out later in the day, but off-and-on showers plagued the afternoon's modified preliminaries — which were rained out and Friday — and the modified program wasn't complete until after 8 p.m.

Late Models were scheduled to hit the track for practice by 9:15 p.m., but more rain returned about 9 p.m., delaying action before racing was postponed about 9:25 p.m.

Pre-race notes

While most of the Late Model teams are in K-C's pits behind turns one and two, more than 40 haulers — unable to get in the pits amid the modified haulers — will be pitting in the parking lot outside turn three. It's unclear how many of them may be able to move into the pits for Saturday's action, but many teams were unhappy pitting so far away from the racetrack without a view of the racing surface. ... Jimmy Owens leads Scott Bloomquist by 50 points entering the finale. ... Saturday's program is scheduled to include Late Model hot laps, time trials, heat races, consolation races, the modified feature, Late Model feature and the Late Model non-qualifiers' race. ... Among World of Outlaws Late Model Series regulars on hand are Josh Richards, Darrell Lanigan, Clint Smith, Shane Clanton and Chub Frank, the DTWC winner at K-C in 2007. ... Former DTWC Bart Hartman is piloting the Larry Shaw Race Cars modified, but isn't entered in the Late Model division. ... Illinois youngster Brandon Sheppard is making his first DTWC appearance. ... Chip Brindle and Kent Robinson are among other first-time entries.

Qualifying order

Group A
K.C. Burdette (kc44), Parkersburg, W.Va.
Frank Heckenast Jr. (99jr), Frankfort, Ill.
Corey Conley (14), Wellsburg, W.Va.
Brandon Conkel (08), Laurelville, Ohio
Doug Drown (12), Wooster, Ohio
Ray Cook (53), Brasstown, N.C.
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill.
Bryan Casey (25), Coshocton, Ohio
Kelly Cook (21k), Topmost, Ky.
Mick Sansom (20m), Salt Rock, W.Va.
Dustin Linville (D88), Bryantsville, Ky.
Nick Latham (31), Cincinnati, Ohio
Timothy Stone (5), Kite, Ky.
R.J. Conley (71c), Wheelersburg, Ohio
Brian Birkhofer (15B), Muscatine, Iowa
Jackie Boggs (4B), Grayson, Ky.
Josh Bivens (14), Portsmouth, Ohio
Scott James (81), Lawrenceburg, Ind.
Russ Frohnhapfel (45), Columbus, Ohio
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill.
Anthony Adams (8), Pinetop, Ky.
James Watson (10w), Friendly, W.Va.
Mike Marlar (5B), Winfield, Tenn.
Jamie Ferguson (13), Crockett, Ky.
Eric Wells (18), Hazard, Ky.
Josh Richards (1), Shinnston, W.Va.
Sonny Conley (1x1), New Martinsville, W.Va.
Don O’Neal (71), Martinsville, Ind.
Paul Davis (16D), Pilgrim, Ky.
Steve Shaver (6), Vienna, W.Va.
Paul Moore (81), hometown unavailable
Jarrod Breeding (25b), Isom, Ky.
Audie Swartz (24), Minford, Ohio
Bub McCool (57j), Vicksburg, Miss.
Tyler Reddick (11), Corning, Calif.
Jimmy Mars (28), Menomonie, Wis.
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill.
Justin Rattliff (16) Campbellsville, Ky.
Steve Prince (83), Newark, Ohio
Rod Conley (71r), Wheelersburg, Ohio
Stephen Breeding (5b), Isom, Ky.
Wayne Maffett Jr. (40), Mansfield, Ohio
Jared Hawkins (37), Fairmont, W.Va.
Eddie Carrier Jr. (28), Salt Rock, W.Va.
Chad Smith (19), Dayton, Ohio
Group B
Clint Smith (44), Senoia, Ga.
Shane McLoughlin (9m), Zanesville, Ohio
Chip Brindle (21B), Chatsworth, Ga.
Greg Johnson (24H), Bedford, Ind.
Josh McGuire (41), Grayson, Ky.
Kenneth Howell (21hk), Lovely, Ky.
Chris Meadows (33), Beckley, W.Va.
Darrell Lanigan (29), Union, Ky.
Jon Hodgkiss (69), Kennedy Township, Pa.
Jared Landers (777), Batesville, Ark.
Tyler Carpenter (8), Parkersburg, W.Va.
Dale McDowell (17m), Chickamauga, Ga.
Steve Francis (15), Ashland, Ky.
Mike Wilson (07), Circleville, Ohio
Shane Clanton (25), Fayetteville, Ga.
Kent Robinson (7r), Bloomington, Ind.
Richie Edwards (3), Grayson, Ky.
Freddie Carpenter (c4), Parkersburg, W.Va.
John Blankenship (23), Williamson, W.Va.
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill.
Earl Pearson Jr. (44), Jacksonville, Fla.
Andy Bond (01), Coolville, Ohio
Donnie Moran (99), Dresden, Ohio
Michael Chilton (97), Salvisa, Ky.
Brandon Fouts (81), Kite, Ky.
Jimmy Owens (20), Newport, Tenn.
Tony Roush (T55), Reedsville, Ohio
Delmas Conley (71), Wheelersburg, Ohio
Chris Brown (21), Spring, Texas
Steve Casebolt (c9), Richmond, Ind.
John Mason (72), Millersburg, Ohio
Tim Dohm (6T), Cross Lanes, W.Va.
Dillon Huron (17h), Maysville, Ky.
Chub Frank (1*), Bear Lake, Pa.
Ralph Withem (15w), Athens, Ohio
Scott Bloomquist (0), Mooresburg, Tenn.
Jared Miley (H1), South Park, Pa.
Ben Adkins (B7), West Portsmouth, Ohio
Brian Shirley (3s), Chatham, Ill.
Tim Lance (48), Brimfield, Ill.
Brad Neat (41), Dunnville, Ky.
Mike Johnson (2J), Imperial, Pa.
Roy Roush (R55), Reedsville, Ohio
Jason Montgomery (21m), Jackson, Ohio
Billy Gullion (11G), Waverly, Ohio
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728