Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Farley Speedway

Neal captures Shootout in Yankee prelims

September 17, 2011, 7:17 am
From series reports

FARLEY, Iowa (Sept. 16) — Showing the same speed that earned him the 2005 Deery Brothers Summer Series title, Terry Neal of Ely, Iowa, led flag to flag in winning Friday’s Brodix Silver Anniversary Shootout at Farley Speedway.

The 20-lap event paid $1,000 and featured a dozen drivers who have won national IMCA Late Model or Deery Series championships over the past 25 years.

Neal got into lapped traffic with two laps to go but was comfortably ahead of Mark Burgtorf at the checkers. Jay Johnson, Terry Schlipman and hard charger Ray Guss Jr. followed.

Guss has already secured his second consecutive national crown, has the upper hand in his bid for a second straight series prize, and made his way from 12th starting to complete the top five.

Neal, Burgtorf, Johnson and Guss were also among the 18 drivers who qualified for Saturday’s $7,500 to win Deery Series main event during the Yankee Dirt Track Classic special at Farley.

The top two finishers from each of five heat races and the top four from each of two consolation races are already in the big show. Completing the 24-car field will be the winners of two last-chance races, the hard charger provisional and three series provisional starters.

Forty-seven IMCA Late Models saw opening night action. Pit gates will open at 3 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 3:30 p.m. Saturday. Racing follows 5:30 p.m. hot laps.

A 13th former IMCA Late Model champion was at Farley on Friday as Layne Meyer helped conduct the draw for the Shootout.

First heat: (1) Andy Eckrich, (2) Mark Burgtorf, (3) Jeff Aikey, (4) Richie Gustin, (5) Dale Hackwell Jr., (6) Matt Ryan, (7) Jon Merfeld, (8) Bruce Schmitz, (9) Jeremy Grady, (10) Jill George.

Second heat: (1) Jeff Guengerich, (2) Dale Stolte, (3) Jay Johnson, (4) Jim Brokus, (5) Darrel DeFrance, (6) Dean Wagner, (7) Larry Harris, (8) Dain Sires, (9) Boone McLaughlin, (10) Scott Welsh,

Third heat: (1) Denny Eckrich, Tiffin, (2) Luke Goedert, Guttenberg, (3) Joel Callahan, (4) Kevin Kile, (5) Justin Reed, (6) Doug Yates, (7) Mitch Current, (8) Jonathan Poll. (9) Jeff French.

Fourth heat: (1) Tyler Bruening, (2) Justin Kay, (3) Ray Guss Jr., (4) Joe Zrostlik, (5) Dan Shelliam, (6) Greg Kastli, (7) Travis Smock, (8) Todd Davis, (9) Nate Beuseling.

Fifth heat: (1) Terry Neal, (2) Brian Harris, (3) Colby Springsteen, (4) Brian Beaudry, (5) Tommy Elston, (6) Curt Martin, (7) Marty Diercks, (8) Mike Smith, (9) Charlie McKenna.

First consolation: (1) Callahan, (2) Springsteen, (3) Brokus, (4) Reed, (5) Aikey, (6) Hackwell, (7) Zrostlik, (8) Kastli, (9) Diercks, (10) Elston, (11) Current, (12) Sires, (13) Davis, (14) Grady, (15) French, (16) Merfeld, (17) McKenna, (18) Wagner, (19) Welsh)

Second consolation: (1) Guss, (2) Johnson, (3) Kile, (4) Shelliam, (5) DeFrance, (6) Gustin, (7) Ryan, (8) Smock, (9) Martin, (10) McLaughlin, (11) Yates, (12) Beaudry, (13) Schmitz, (14) Beuseling, (15) Larry Harris, (16) Poll, (17) Smith, (18) George)

Brodix Silver Anniversary Shootout: (1) Terry Neal, (2) Mark Burgtorf, (3) Jay Johnson, (4) Terry Schlipman, (5) Ray Guss Jr., (6) Jeremy Grady, (7) Darrel DeFrance, (8) Jeff French, (9) Boone McLaughlin, (10) Curt Martin, (11) Mike Smith, (12) Denny Osborn.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728