Login |


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video




Moler Raceway Park

Jaggers nips Johnson, grabs Moler's $5,000

August 17, 2013, 5:44 am
From contributor reports
Jason Jaggers (32) takes the checkers ahead of Greg Johnson (15). (sraracingphotos.com)
Jason Jaggers (32) takes the checkers ahead of Greg Johnson (15). (sraracingphotos.com)

WILLIAMSBURG, Ohio (Aug. 16) — In a winning debut at Moler Raceway Park, Jason Jaggers of Wyanet, Ill., overtook Greg Johnson of Bedford, Ind., coming off the final corner for a $5,000 victory in the seventh annual Victor “Ike” Moler Memorial. | Slideshow

Jaggers started fifth and ran among the top three most of the way, but led a single lap in the richest race at the southwestern Ohio oval.

Johnson was a length behind in second in the unsanctioned event while Chad Smith of Miamisburg, Ohio, as third and the top home-state finisher. Duane Chamberlain of Richmond, Ind., and Tim Prince of Heltonville, Ind., rounded out the top five.

Johnson started on the pole and led the first lap, but fast qualifier R.J. Conley took control on the second lap and led through the midway point. But Conley’s car started leaking fuel and he was forced pitside during a lap-27 caution.

After a red flag to burn off the fuel on the racing surface, Johnson was out front for all but the final circuit of the 50-lap main event.

Notes: Jaggers drives a Bob Pierce Race Car with sponsorship from Crop Production Services, Monsanto, Michlig Energy, B&M Farm Enterprises, Lawson Agency, Vandevorde Sales, Schroeder Farms, and The Park Tavern. ... The victory ranks among the biggest for Jaggers, who earned $3,000 in April 13’s Don Bohlander Tribute at Peoria (Ill.) Speedway. ... Jaggers primarily races in Illinois but had competed earlier in the week on the Iowa-based Corn Belt Clash, scoring sixth- and fourth-place finishes at Marshalltown Speedway and Cedar County Raceway in Tipton. ... Barry Doss was back in action after suffering a May heart attack at the racetrack; he won the consolation race. ... Last year's winner Steve Casebolt retired just past the halfway mark. ... Chad Stapleton piloted Alan Magner's No. 7M car in the feature after discovering problems in his No. 32 following heat race action. ... Robby Hensley lost a wheel on the first lap forcing a complete restart. ... Josh McGuire experienced motor troubles during time trials and called it a night.

Victor “Ike” Moler Memorial: (1) Jason Jaggers, (2) Greg Johnson, (3) Chad Smith, (4) Duane Chamberlain, (5) Tim Prince, (6) John Whitney, (7) Devin Moran, (8) R.J. Conley, (9) Barry Doss, (10) James Rice, (11) Wayne Chinn, (12) Bill Sheets, (13) J.T. Conley, (14) Ricky Arms, (15) Jesse Lay, (16) Ethan Burgess, (17) Roger Ruark, (18) Gary Wilson, (19) Kellen Kenneda, (20) Joe Ramey, (21) Steve Casebolt, (22) Daniel Kattine, (23) Chad Stapleton, (24) Robby Hensley. Fast qualifier (among 31 cars): R.J. Conley, 12.979 seconds. Heat race winners: Chamberlain, Smith, Sheets. Consolation winner: Doss. Dash winner: Johnson.