Login |


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video


Daily Dirt 11/23/2017 02:59:20

March 11
Cochran Motor Speedway,
Cochran, GA
Sanction: NeSmith RockAuto.com Winter Shootout (Winter Shootout) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated March 12, 9:09 am)
Bronson captures $5,000 Cochran victory
Winter Shootout
  1. Kyle Bronson
  2. Riley Hickman
  3. Devin Dixon
  4. Mark Whitener
  5. Andy Picklesimer
  6. Matt Henderson
  7. Jimmy Elliott
  8. Chase Edge
  9. Ryan Carter
  10. Jimmy Thomas
  11. Mike Pegher Jr.
  12. Larry Harrod
  13. Ron Parker
  14. Marcus Minga
  15. Payton Freeman
  16. Jody Knowles
  17. Cecil Eunice
  18. Cole Godowns
  19. Walker Arthur
  20. Travis Pennington
  21. Jamie Perry
  22. John Ownbey
  23. Jordy Nipper
  24. Joshua Bishop
presented by
What won the race: Seventh-starting Kyle Bronson of Branon, Fla., overtook second-starting Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., on lap 56 of the 60-lap feature for a NeSmith RockAuto.com Winter Shootout Series victory worth $5,000. Bronson took the checkers ahead of Hickman by .939 seconds.
Key notes: Bronson came from ninth to second in Friday's $2,000-to-win feature won by Mike Pegher Jr. ... Pegher was running fifth when he folded the nose under on lap 40, falling back to finish 11th. ... The race was slowed by eight cautions. ... Eight of 24 starters finished on the lead lap. ... The event was the second-richest race on NeSmith's winter tour. ... NeSmith competitors head to Oglethorpe Speedway Park near Savannah, Ga., for March 24-25 events.
On the move: Friday night winner Mike Pegher Jr. of Wexford, Pa., started 18th to finish 11th.
Winner's sponsors: Branson's winning Rocket XR1 Chassis carries sponsorship from Brandon Collision, All Florida Real Estate Group and Brandon Ford.
Points chase: Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., led NeSmith's Winter Shootout points entering the event; he didn't compete at Cochran.
Car count: 42
Fast qualifier: Matt Henderson
Time: 14.685 seconds
Polesitter: Matt Henderson
Heat race winners: Matt Henderson, Riley Hickman, Devin Dixon, Larry Harrod
Consolation race winners: Payton Freeman, Chase Edge
Next series race: March 24, Oglethorpe Speedway Park (Savannah, GA) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.