Login |


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video




Malden Speedway

Wallace takes Malden for first Comp Cams win of '12

June 9, 2012, 5:27 am
From series reports

MALDEN, Mo. (June 8) — Career victories leader Wendell Wallace of Batesville, Ark., notched his 13th victory in Comp Cams Super Dirt Series history Friday at Malden Speedway.

Wallace, who started outside the front row, led the first 21 circuits before giving up the lead to reigning series champ Brandon Smith of Floral, Ark. But Wallace fought back to regain on the point on lap 31 and led the final five circuits for a $2,000 payday and his first CCSDS victory of 2012.

Timothy Culp of West Monroe, La., dropped Smith to third at the finish while polesitter Jon Mitchell of Texarkana, Texas, was fourth. Curtis Cook of Vilonia, Ark., rounded out the top five.

Notes: Wallace’s Victory Circle Chassis has a Russell Baker powerplant and sponsorship from Triple A Diesel, Wincrest Farms, C&S Cable Construction and Delph Communications. ... Wallace won six series races last season, including the Oct. 8 series finale at Riverside International Speedway in West Memphis, Ark. ... Fourth-place finisher Jon Mitchell rallied from the tail in his heat race for a victory that gave him the New Vision Graphics Pole award for the 35-lap feature. ... Sixth-running Stacy Taylor’s feature ended when he lost a shock on lap 32, giving him the Quarter Master Hard Luck award. ... Robert Baker of Bryant, Ark., was the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger with his 15th-to-8th run. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Tommy Surrett, Robby Moore, Dale Armstrong, Randy Todd, Travis Mosley, Kenneth Jackson and Robert Lovette. ... Next up for Comp Cams competitors is Saturday’s $2,000-to-win event at Northeast Arkansas Speedway in Harrisburg, the opener on the RiceTec Summer Series. The next six series races will award drivers cash and contingency prizes.

Comp Cams @ Malden: (1) Wendell Wallace, (2) Timothy Culp, (3) Brandon Smith, (4) Jon Mitchell, (5) Curtis Cook, (6) Jeff Floyd, (7) Todd Hall, (8) Robert Baker, (9) Billy Moyer Jr., (10) Johnny Virden, (11) Jon Kirby, (12) Chandler Petty, (13) Shawn Knuckles, (14) Mason Oberkramer, (15) Keith Lawson, (16) Nicholas Black, (17) Stacy Taylor, (18) Kyle Beard, (19) Shane Stephens, (20) Dane Dacus. Heat race winners (among 27 cars): Wallace, Smith, Culp, Mitchell. Consolation winners: Baker, Dacus.