Login |


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video




I-80 Speedway

Phillips outruns Anderson at I-80's Midwest Trifecta

June 30, 2012, 4:21 am
From series reports
Terry Phillips takes the checkers at I-80 Speedway. (fasttrackphotos.net)
Terry Phillips takes the checkers at I-80 Speedway. (fasttrackphotos.net)

GREENWOOD, Neb. (June 29) — Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., captured Friday’s Midwest Trifecta at I-80 Speedway for a victory co-sanctioned by the MARS DIRTcar Series, Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association and Corn Belt Clash. | Slideshow

Running the high side late in the race, Phillips pinned leader John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., to the low groove in turns three and four to take command and grab a $3,000 victory, continuing a resurgence in his Late Model program.

"A big racetrack is a little harder on tires," Phillips said. "(I) kind of saved my stuff to the end. Not that I was saving it a lot. I was having to hustle the car pretty good. When you're leading you don't know where to go for sure, and I took advantage of that.”

Anderson, always up front at I-80 Speedway, was second with Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, in third. Jason O’Brien of Atlantic, Iowa, and Chris Spieker of Massena, Iowa, rounded out the top five finishers in the 35-lap feature.

Anderson and Simpson started on the front row, battling side-by-side earlier in the race before Anderson took command on lap eight.

Phillips narrowly escaped a multicar pileup with 14 laps to go when Denny Eckrich got sideways in the middle of turns one and two. Bill Koons and Mark Dotson were among those involved and Phillips made contact with Dotson on the right side of his car, but the damage didn't hinder him.

Notes: Phillips drives a Bloomquist Race Car powered by a Hatfield Racing Engine and sponsored by Andy’s Frozen Custard and Don Babb Motorsports. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Brian Kenkel, Skip Frey, Jim Rychtik, Justin Kay, Dustin Walker and Steve Kempt. ... All three tours head to Adams County Speedway in Corning, Iowa, for the $5,000-to-win Liberty 50 on Saturday.

Midwest Trifecta: (1) Terry Phillips, (2) John Anderson, (3) Chad Simpson, (4) Jason O’Brien, (5) Chris Spieker, (6) Jason Utter, (7) Chris Simpson, (8) Tim Isenberg, (9) Travis Dickes, (10) Kyle Berck, (11) Bill Leighton, (12) Tony Jackson Jr., (13) Jesse Stovall, (14) Dave Eckrich, (15) Bryant Goldsmith, (16) Charlie McKenna, (17) Brandon Morton, (18) Leroy Johnson, (19) Mike Collins, (20) Denny Eckrich, (21) Bill Koons, (22) Mark Dotson, (23) Clint Benson, (24) Jake Meier, (25) Mike Wiarda, (26) Rob Moss, (27) Kevin Sather, (28) Justin Asplin. Heat race winners (among 35 cars): Phillips, Dickes, Anderson, Chad Simpson. Consolation winners: Utter, Denny Eckrich.